Read our latest news stories
10th February 2010, 9:55am
Journalism students in the running for more awards
journalism Journalism students from the University of Lincoln will be heading north for a major BBC awards ceremony tomorrow, having been nominated in three of the five categories.

The young journalists and broadcasters have been nominated in three categories of the BBC Partnership Awards and part of their day will involve attending workshops and networking with major industry figures, including BBC Director General Mark Thompson, at the event in Teeside.

The University’s on-campus community radio station Siren FM is in contention for a BBC Achievement Award for its journalism and community outreach work.

The website of the University’s student newspaper, The Linc, is in the running for a BBC Innovation Award, fresh from being shortlisted in the Guardian Student Media Awards.

And Dane Vincent, who graduated from the BA (Hons) Journalism last summer, has been shortlisted for the BBC Journalism Award for articles produced during his final year at Lincoln.

Additionally, Journalism students Hasina Sacranie and Leigh Milner were given special invitations by the conference organisers after they shone at their work experience placements at BBC Lincolnshire and BBC 5Live.

Deborah Wilson, Programme Leader for BA (Hons) Journalism at the University of Lincoln, said: “These nominations are a huge vote of confidence in the School of Journalism and the work of Siren FM.  Just to be shortlisted for these awards is an honour in itself, and we’ve been nominated in three of the five categories!  We’ll be attending the ceremony in numbers and keeping our fingers crossed that we can come back to Lincoln with some silverware.”

The University’s Lincoln School of Journalism won the 2008 Award for Innovation in Broadcast Journalism Teaching from the British Journalism Training Council and has been ‘Recognised for Excellence’ by the European Journalism Training Association.

The BBC Connect & Create Partnership Conference is being held at the Institute of Digital Innovation, Teesside University on Thursday 11 February 2010. Prizes will be awarded by comedy duo Vic Reeves and Bob Mortimer.

Tweet this story Share on Facebook