Chancellor of the University

Chancellor, Lord Victor Adebowale CBE

Lord Victor Adebowale CBE was installed as Chancellor of the University of Lincoln in December 2008, replacing Dame Elizabeth Esteve-Coll, who held the role for the previous seven years.

Lord Victor is chair of the NHS Confederation, the membership body for NHS organisations - a post he has held since April 2020. Before this, he was chief executive of the leading social care organisation Turning Point. He is recognised as a leading voice for people affected by poverty, mental health issues, drugs, alcohol, learning disability and complex needs.

He began his career in housing and was Chief Executive of Centre Point, the National Youth Homelessness Charity from 1995 until 2001 when he joined Turning Point.

In 2000, Lord Victor was awarded a CBE for services to the New Deal, the unemployed, and homeless young people and a year later he became one of the first ‘People’s Peers’ when he was appointed a cross bench member of the House of Lords.

He is a Commissioner of the UK Commission for Employment and Skills and on the Boards of Locality and English Touring Theatre. He is President of the International Association of Philosophy and Psychiatry, Chair of Vision Development and Chair of the Collaborate Institute at London South Bank University. He is a Non Executive Director of 360 IT Collaboration Ltd and of Leadership in Mind.

He is a Fellow of the City and Guilds of London Institute, an associate of the Cambridge University Judge Business School, and Birmingham University Centre for Health Service Management.

Lord Victor has a Post Graduate Diploma from the Tavistock Institute and an MA in Advanced Organisational Consulting from City University London. He is a member of the NHS Future Forum and regularly appears in the national media commenting on various issues relating to health and social care and public policy.

Pro Chancellors

The Chancellor is assisted in his ceremonial duties by two Pro Chancellors, Ms Diane Lees CBE, and the immediate past Chair, Mr Haydn Biddle, who preside over the University’s graduation ceremonies. 

Ms Diane Lees CBE is the current Chair of the Board of Governors. She is Director-General of Imperial War Museums and is a Trustee of 14-18NOW, the Centenary’s Cultural Programme, as well as acting as a Trustee of the IWM Development Trust, the Gerry Holdsworth Special Forces Trust, and the Army Museums Ogilby Trust. She is a member of the Women Leaders in Museums Network (WLMN), and also serves as Vice President of the American Air Museum in Britain.

Mr Haydn Biddle chaired the University governing body from 1 August 2012 to 31 July 2018. He is currently Chairman of George Bateman & Son Ltd, brewers and retailers, having previously been Chief Executive.