School of Social and Political Sciences Staff

School Staff Page Main Image
Name Position Email Last Name First Name Weighting Title
Prof Abigail Powell Acting Head of School
Gender, equity, young people, Sociology of work, financial wellbeing and inclusion, evaluation, research methods
apowell@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886941
Mr Abraham Jatto Associate Lecturer
ajatto@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Adam Formby Senior Lecturer in Social Policy
Young people, social policy, sociology of work, evaluation, research methods
aformby@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Adele Langlois Associate Professor
International Relations (global health ethics)
alanglois@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886202
Dr Alexander Oaten Post Doctoral Research Associate
Discourse analysis, critical suicide studies, British politics, political extremism, qualitative research,
aoaten@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Ana Jordan Associate Professor / Programme Leader
Gender and Politics, Political Sociology, Masculinities, Men's Movements, Fathers' Rights Groups, Gender-based Violence on Campus
anajordan@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886119
Dr Andrew Defty Associate Professor/Programme Leader
adefty@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886089
Mrs Anna Jackson Administrator
anjackson@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835167
Dr Anna Tarrant Associate Professor in Sociology / Programme Leader
Cocreation and Coproduction; Fatherhood; Young Parenthood; Kinship Care; Lifecourse; Gender equality; Poverty; Qualitative longitudinal methodology; Qualitative Secondary Analysis
atarrant@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886170
Dr Anthony Ellis Senior Lecturer in Criminology
Violence and Violent Crime; Weapon-enabled crime; Homicide; Criminological Theory, particularly Social Harm, Ultra-Realist, Bio and Psycho Social theories of crime.
aellis@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Aris Trantidis Lecturer in International Relations and Politics
Aris Trantidis currently studies climate politics and institutions. Central to his research is the question of democratic reform at the age of climate crisis, shifting the focus from climate policy to climate institutions and also prompting a broader rethinking of democratic institutions at an age of recurrent crises. Dr Trantidis is also finishing a project on democratic resilience under the stresses of populism and authoritarianism. His research also focuses on three thematic areas: a) the interplay between politics and economic policy, b) political institutions, democratic representation and the pathologies of the political process, with emphasis on issues of gender and minority representation and voice, and c) the feedback between economics as a discipline and economic policy as practice. He has a methodologically diverse research agenda, with conceptual and empirically grounded contributions to theory.
atrantidis@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835278
Mr Ben Handysides Research Administrator
bhandysides@lincoln.ac.uk
8935
Dr Ben Kisby Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
British politics, public policy, citizenship education
bkisby@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886192
Dr Carina O'Reilly Senior Lecturer in Criminology
Carina is a specialist in neighbourhood policing and community engagement.
coreilly@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835203
Prof Christian Karner Professor of Sociology / Programme Leader
Political sociology, especially within the areas of nationalism- and ethnicity studies; urban pluralism; memory studies; Central European studies (with particular reference to Austria); the sociology of globalization.
ckarner@lincoln.ac.uk
Ms Claire Randerson Interim Deputy Head of School
International Relations, EU enlargement, war crimes and genocide.
cranderson@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886237
Dr Danilo Freire Senior Lecturer in Criminology
Public services provision, accountability, state violence, private governance, organised crime, and quantitative methods.
dfreire@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr David Hughes Senior Lecturer in International Relations/ MA Programme Leader
Covid-19; propaganda; US imperialism; 9/11; Marxism
dhughes@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835404
Dr Edwin Bacon Associate Professor
Comparative politics, particularly Russian politics. Applied politics.
ebacon@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886133
Mrs Elena Gaschino Associate Lecturer
egaschino@lincoln.ac.uk
Ms Fiona Duerden Associate Lecturer
fduerden@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Gary Saunders Senior Lecturer/ Programme Leader
Criminological Theory, Marxist Social Theory, Law, Sociology, Research Methods, Higher Education, Education
gsaunders@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886984
Miss Georgie Horner Lecturer in Criminology
gehorner@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Hugh Bochel Professor of Public Policy
hbochel@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886098
Mrs Jade Perrett Administrator
jperrett@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886255
Dr James Pattison Lecturer in Sociology
Urban sociology; territorial stigma; deindustrialisation; precarious employment; migration; race/class identities and political subjectivities
jpattison@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Jasper Miles Associate Lecturer
jamiles@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Joshua Skoczylis Senior Lecturer in Criminology and Counter-Terrorism Studies
Counter-Terrorism Policy, Policing, Countering Violence Extremism, Public Policy and Magistrates' Court
jskoczylis@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886122
Miss Katy Brookfield Associate Lecturer
kbrookfield@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Laura Way Research Fellow in Family Research
Ageing and gender; qualitative methods; subcultures; punk; creative methods; participatory methods; punk pedagogies.
lway@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886440
Dr Lauren Hall Lecturer in Criminology
Desistance; Communities; Recovery from addiction; Strengths-based approaches
lahall@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Linzi Ladlow Research Fellow in Family Research
Young parenthood, youth transitions, housing, disadvantage, qualitative longitudinal research methods.
lladlow@lincoln.ac.uk
Miss Lizzie Dobson Senior Administrator / PA
ldobson@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835560
Dr Luke Turnock Senior Lecturer in Criminology
Drugs; Steroids and IPEDs; youth subcultures; masculinities; gender and fitness training; policy
lturnock@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Lyndsey Harris College Director of Academic Quality and Standards
Domestic Abuse: including multi-agency partnership working; improving services for survivors experiencing multiple disadvantage; criminal justice responses and integrated offender management. Terrorism and Political Violence: Loyalist Paramilitarism; Misogynistic terrorism, Right wing extremism. Creative qualitative research methodologies: Feminist informed research methods.
lyharris@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886670
Dr Marianna Charountaki Senior Lecturer in International Politics
International Relations, Non-State Actors, Foreign Policy Analysis, international relations of the Middle East, Iraqi politics, EU- Kurdish relations, US foreign policy, Kurdish politics, Turkish-Iranian foreign policies, GCC- Kurdish relations.
mcharountaki@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886672
Dr Mark Bennister Associate Professor in Politics/Programme Leader
Political leadership, Parliament; British Politics, Comparative Politics
mbennister@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835159
Mrs Mary Brown Associate Lecturer
mbrown@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Matthew Leavesley Postgraduate Teaching Assistant
mleavesley@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Mike Neary Emeritus Professor
Political Sociology, Marxist Social Theory
mneary@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Mike Slaven Senior Lecturer in International Politics
security politics, immigration, securitization, UK politics, US politics, qualitative methods, irregular migration
mslaven@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835048
Dr Nick Cowen Senior Lecturer in Criminology
Criminal justice and political economy
ncowen@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886545
Dr Rachela Colosi Senior Lecturer
Ethnography; Sociology; Crime and Deviance
rcolosi@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837123
Mr Ric Metcalfe Associate Lecturer
rmetcalfe@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837763
Dr Rico Isaacs Associate Professor in Politics
Authoritarianism, Nationalism Studies, post-Soviet politics, Central Asia and Political Theory
risaacs@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Sam Andrews Lecturer in Criminology
Gender and political violence
samandrews@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Sam Hillyard Professor of Sociology
Rural sociology
shillyard@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886488
Dr Samantha Shave Senior Lecturer in Social Policy
Social policies; Social policy concepts and ideas; Policy making and breaking; Poor Laws; Workhouses; Poverty; Scandal
sshave@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837134
Mr Sheridan Minshull Associate Lecturer
sminshull@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Simon Obendorf Senior Lecturer
Gender & Sexuality, LGBTQ+ Studies, Decolonialism/Postcolonialism, Critical International Relations Theory, East & SE Asian Studies.
sobendorf@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886268
Dr Simone Varriale Lecturer in Sociology/Social Policy
Class, inequalities, migration, popular music, media, cultural globalization, 20th and 21st century Italy, qualitative methods
svarriale@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837745
Prof Steve McKay Distinguished Professor in Social Research
Social research; inequality; family policy; quantitative methods; social security and pensions.
smckay@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886629
Dr Sue Bond-Taylor Senior Lecturer/ Programme Leader
Youth crime prevention, youth justice, anti-social behaviour, family interventions and troubled families.
sbtaylor@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886402
Prof Sundari Anitha Professor of Gender, Violence and Work
violence against women and girls; gender and work; gender and migration; life history methods
sanitha@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886809
Dr Sureyya Sonmez Efe Post Doctorate Research Associate
Human Rights; Ethics of migration; Cosmopolitan ethics; International Migration; Global Justice; Forced Migration; Migrants Rights; Community Cohesion; Integration Policies.
ssonmezefe@lincoln.ac.uk
Miss Vicky Naylor Administrator
vnaylor@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886786
Dr Wesley Key Senior Lecturer
Social Policy, Social Gerontology
wkey@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886944
Dr Wesley Tourangeau Lecturer in Criminology
green criminology; animal/environmental harms; critical criminology; agricultural law and regulation; socio-ecological sustainability; systems thinking; theories of power and influence; qualitative research methods
wtourangeau@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Yuchen Liang MpHil/PhD student
yliang@lincoln.ac.uk