School of Social and Political Sciences Staff

School Staff Page Main Image
Name Position Email Last Name First Name Weighting Title
Prof Abigail Powell Acting Head of School
Gender, equity, young people, Sociology of work, financial wellbeing and inclusion, evaluation, research methods
apowell@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886941
Dr Adam Formby Senior Lecturer in Social Policy
Young people, social policy, sociology of work, evaluation, research methods
aformby@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Adele Langlois Associate Professor
International Relations (global health ethics)
alanglois@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886202
Dr Aideen O'Shaughnessy Lecturer in Sociology
Feminism, Gender, Sexuality, Reproduction, Social Justice, New Social Movements, Emotion, Affect and Embodiment.
aoshaughnessy@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Alexander Oaten Post Doctoral Research Associate
Discourse analysis, critical suicide studies, British politics, political extremism, qualitative research,
aoaten@lincoln.ac.uk
Miss Amy Gibbons Associate Lecturer
agibbons@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Ana Jordan Associate Professor / Programme Leader
Gender and Politics, Political Sociology, Masculinities, Men's Movements, Fathers' Rights Groups, Gender-based Violence on Campus
anajordan@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886119
Dr Andrew Defty Associate Professor/Programme Leader
adefty@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886089
Mrs Anna Jackson Administrator
anjackson@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835167
Prof Anna Tarrant Professor of Sociology / Programme Leader
Cocreation and Coproduction; Fatherhood; Young Parenthood; Kinship Care; Lifecourse; Gender equality; Poverty; Qualitative longitudinal methodology; Qualitative Secondary Analysis
atarrant@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886170
Dr Anthony Ellis Senior Lecturer in Criminology
Violence and Violent Crime; Weapon-enabled crime; Homicide; Criminological Theory, particularly Social Harm, Ultra-Realist, Bio and Psycho Social theories of crime.
aellis@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Aris Trantidis Senior Lecturer in International Relations and Politics
Aris Trantidis currently studies climate politics and institutions. Central to his research is the question of democratic reform at the age of climate crisis, shifting the focus from climate policy to climate institutions and also prompting a broader rethinking of democratic institutions at an age of recurrent crises. Dr Trantidis is also finishing a project on democratic resilience under the stresses of populism and authoritarianism. His research also focuses on three thematic areas: a) the interplay between politics and economic policy, b) political institutions, democratic representation and the pathologies of the political process, with emphasis on issues of gender and minority representation and voice, and c) the feedback between economics as a discipline and economic policy as practice. He has a methodologically diverse research agenda, with conceptual and empirically grounded contributions to theory.
atrantidis@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835278
Dr Baris Cayli Messina Associate Professor of Criminology
critical criminology; historical sociology; comparative social research; historical criminology; violence and society; the sociology of conflict; organised crime; antimafia movements; gender, crime, and justice; social movements; modern Italy; Ottoman Empire; Turkey and the Middle East; qualitative and quantitative research methods
bcaylimessina@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Ben Handysides Research Administrator
bhandysides@lincoln.ac.uk
8935
Dr Ben Kisby Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
British politics, public policy, citizenship education
bkisby@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886192
Dr Carina O'Reilly Senior Lecturer in Criminology
Carina is a specialist in neighbourhood policing and community engagement, and evidence-based policing.
coreilly@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835203
Mr Casmir Maazure Associate Lecturer
cmaazure@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Christian Karner Professor of Sociology / Programme Leader
Political sociology, especially within the areas of nationalism- and ethnicity studies; urban pluralism; memory studies; Central European studies (with particular reference to Austria); the sociology of globalization.
ckarner@lincoln.ac.uk
Mrs Claire Mascall Associate Lecturer
cmascall@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Danilo Freire Senior Lecturer in Criminology
Public services provision, accountability, state violence, private governance, organised crime, and quantitative methods.
dfreire@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr David Hughes Senior Lecturer in International Relations/ MA Programme Leader
Covid-19; propaganda; psychological warfare; US imperialism; 9/11; Marxism
dhughes@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835404
Ms Dena Arya Associate Lecturer
darya@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Edwin Bacon Associate Professor
Comparative politics, particularly Russian politics. Applied politics.
ebacon@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886133
Mrs Elena Gaschino Lecturer in Criminology
egaschino@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Gary Rawnsley Head of School of Social and Political Sciences
Public and cultural diplomacy; soft power; propaganda; democratisation and the media; and international broadcasting; East Asia, especially Taiwan, China, Hong Kong, South Korea and Vietnam.
grawnsley@lincoln.ac.uk
Miss Georgie Horner Lecturer in Criminology
gehorner@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Hamoon Khelghat-Doost Senior Lecturer in International Politics
hkelghatdoost@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Henry Price Lecturer in Sociology
hprice@lincoln.ac.uk
Mrs Jade Perrett Administrator
jperrett@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886255
Dr James Pattison Research Fellow
Urban sociology; territorial stigma; deindustrialisation; precarious employment; migration; race/class identities and political subjectivities; ethnography
jpattison@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Jane Harrold Senior Lecturer in Strategic Studies
The evolution of European security and defence policy and organisations; international security institutions; 20th Century International History and Naval History; the history of naval officer training and naval education; the history of BRNC.
jharrold@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Jasper Miles Lecturer in Politics
jamiles@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Joshua Skoczylis Senior Lecturer in Criminology and Counter-Terrorism Studies
Counter-Terrorism Policy, Policing, Countering Violence Extremism, Public Policy and Magistrates' Court
jskoczylis@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886122
Dr Kate Gilchrist Lecturer in Gender Studies
kgilchrist@lincoln.ac.uk
Miss Katy Brookfield Associate Lecturer
kbrookfield@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Laura Way Research Fellow in Family Research
Ageing and gender; qualitative methods; subcultures; punk; creative methods; participatory methods; punk pedagogies.
lway@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886440
Dr Lauren Hall Lecturer in Criminology
Desistance; Communities; Recovery from addiction; Strengths-based approaches; Relationships; Identity; Social Networks and Capital; Gender
lahall@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Linzi Ladlow Research Fellow in Family Research
Young parenthood, youth transitions, housing, disadvantage, qualitative longitudinal research methods.
lladlow@lincoln.ac.uk
Mrs Lizzie Good Senior Administrator / PA
lgood@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835560
Dr Luke Turnock Senior Lecturer in Criminology
Drugs; Steroids and IPEDs; youth subcultures; masculinities; gender and fitness training; policy
lturnock@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Maria Alfaro-Simmonds Research Associate: Children as Changemakers
malfarosimmonds@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Marianna Charountaki Senior Lecturer in International Politics
International Relations, Non-State Actors, Foreign Policy Analysis, international relations of the Middle East, Iraqi politics, EU- Kurdish relations, US foreign policy, Kurdish politics, Turkish-Iranian foreign policies, GCC- Kurdish relations.
mcharountaki@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886672
Dr Mark Bennister Associate Professor of Politics/Director of The Lincoln Policy Hub
Political leadership, Parliament; British Politics, Comparative Politics
mbennister@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835159
Dr Mike Slaven Senior Lecturer in International Politics
security politics, immigration, securitization, UK politics, US politics, qualitative methods, irregular migration
mslaven@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835048
Dr Nick Cowen Senior Lecturer in Criminology
Criminal justice and political economy
ncowen@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886545
Dr Rachela Colosi Senior Lecturer
Sexualities; Gender; Sex Work; Ethnography; Sociology; Crime and Deviance
rcolosi@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837123
Mr Ric Metcalfe Associate Lecturer
rmetcalfe@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837763
Prof Rico Isaacs Professor of International Politics
Authoritarianism, Nationalism Studies, Populism, Ecologism, post-Soviet politics, Central Asia and Political Theory
risaacs@lincoln.ac.uk
Miss Ruth Sellin Associate Lecturer
rsellin@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Sam Andrews Lecturer in Criminology
Gender and political violence; Terrorism
samandrews@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Sam Hillyard Professor of Sociology
Rural sociology
shillyard@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886488
Dr Samantha Shave Senior Lecturer in Social Policy
Social policies; Social policy concepts and ideas; Policy making and breaking; Poor Laws; Workhouses; Poverty; Scandal
sshave@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837134
Mr Sheridan Minshull Associate Lecturer
sminshull@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Simon Murden Senior Lecturer in Strategic Studies
Research specialisms include the contemporary world order especially the causes of conflict, Middle East Affairs, concepts of operations, and critical thinking for strategic studies. Additionally, teaching-level expertise in nineteenth and twentieth century war and warfare, the media in war, terrorism, climate change, and China.
smurden@lincoln.ac.uk
01803677236
Dr Simon Obendorf Senior Lecturer
Gender & Sexuality, LGBTQ+ Studies, Decolonialism/Postcolonialism, Critical International Relations Theory, East & SE Asian Studies.
sobendorf@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886268
Prof Steve McKay Distinguished Professor in Social Research
Social research; inequality; family policy; quantitative methods; social security and pensions.
smckay@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886629
Dr Sue Bond-Taylor Senior Lecturer/ Programme Leader
Youth crime prevention, youth justice, anti-social behaviour, family interventions and troubled families.
sbtaylor@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886402
Prof Sundari Anitha Professor of Gender, Violence and Work
violence against women and girls; gender and work; gender and migration; life history methods
sanitha@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886809
Dr Sureyya Sonmez Efe Senior Lecturer in International Relations
Human Rights; Ethics of migration; Cosmopolitan ethics; International Migration; Global Justice; Forced Migration; Migrants Rights; Community Cohesion; Integration Policies.
ssonmezefe@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Thomas Eason Associate Lecturer
British Foreign Policy, British Politics, Foreign Policy Analysis, Interpretivist Public Policy Analysis, Secret Intelligence
teason@lincoln.ac.uk
Miss Vicky Naylor Administrator
vnaylor@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886786
Dr Wesley Key Senior Lecturer
Social Policy, Social Gerontology
wkey@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886944
Dr Wesley Tourangeau Senior Lecturer in Criminology
green criminology; animal/environmental harms; critical criminology; agricultural law and regulation; socio-ecological sustainability; systems thinking; theories of power and influence; qualitative research methods
wtourangeau@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Yuchen Liang MpHil/PhD student
yliang@lincoln.ac.uk