Lincoln School of Humanities and Heritage Staff

Name Position Email Last Name First Name Weighting Title
Dr Adam Page Senior Lecturer Modern British History
Cultural History, Urban History, Modern Britain
apage@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835354
Dr Alice Crossley Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
Nineteenth-Century Literature
acrossley@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835491
Dr Alyson Wharton Senior Lecturer
Ottoman History, Armenian History, Islamic Architecture, History of Architects,19th-Century Architecture and Urbanism
awharton@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835035
Ms Amanda White Conservation Project Manager
awhite@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835170
Dr Amy Culley Associate Professor
Eighteenth-century and Romantic literature, Life writing, Women's writing, Ageing studies
aculley@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886048
Prof Amy Livingstone Head of Lincoln School of History & Heritage
Medieval women and gender; medieval aristocratic families; France in the eleventh and twelfth centuries; material culture; medieval charters
alivingstone@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886554
Dr Anais Waag Early Career Fellow
Gender Studies; Political History; Medieval Queenship; Comparative History; Womens Studies; Medieval Epistolography and Diplomatic
awaag@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Rowcroft Associate Lecturer
Contemporary Literature, American Literature, Critical Theory
arowcroft@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Anna Marie Roos Professor of the History of Science and Medicine
History of Science and Medicine, Early Modern History

Ms Annise Rogers Associate Lecturer
arogers@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Antonella Liuzzo Scorpo Associate Professor / Programme Leader
Medieval History; Iberian history; history of emotions; legal history; cultural history
aliuzzoscorpo@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837381
Prof Carenza Lewis Professor for the Public Understanding of Research
Medieval rural settlement, demography and landscape; community archaeology; public heritage; medieval history; and childhood in the past
clewis@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837107
Mrs Caroline Oliver Associate Lecturer
coliver@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Catherine Parry Associate Lecturer
Literary Animal Studies, Ecocriticism, Contemporary Literature, Narrative Theory
cparry@lincoln.ac.uk
Ms Catherine Redpath Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
credpath@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886813
Dr Cathy Daly Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
Archaeological and world cultures conservation, climate change impacts on cultural heritage.
cdaly@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835036
Ms Celeste Sturgeon Senior Technician in Conservation
csturgeon@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Chiara Beccalossi Associate Professor
Modern European history, modern British history, Latin American history, transnational history, the history of sexuality, the history of medicine and human sciences, gender and queer studies.
cbeccalossi@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Chris Pickup Associate Lecturer
cpickup@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Christine Grandy Associate Professor
Media history; 20th century British history; Race relations in 20th century Britain; Film and television history; Social and cultural history; Gender history
cgrandy@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886901
Dr Christopher Marlow Senior Lecturer
Shakespeare, early modern literature and culture, cultural materialism, contemporary culture
cmarlow@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837358
Mrs Claire Ridley Lecturer in Conservation
Gilding and decorative surfaces World culture objects (organic and inorganic materials)
cridley@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Came Senior Lecturer in Philosophy / Programme Leader
Post-Kantian European Philosophy (especially Nietzsche and Schopenhauer); Philosophy of Religion
dcame@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837189
Dr Diane Ranyard Associate Lecturer
19th and 20th century Britain; First and Second World Wars; Interwar Period; Social and Cultural History; Legal and Political History; Marriage, Divorce, Families and Friendship; Life-cycles and the everyday; Class; Gender; Sex and Sexuality; History of Emotions (Shame and Love); Media and Screen Culture

Dr Edmund Downey Post-Doctoral Research Associate
edowney@lincoln.ac.uk
Miss Eleanor Bryan Associate Lecturer
ebryan@lincoln.ac.uk
Miss Eleanor Griffiths Associate Lecturer
egriffiths@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Erin Bell Senior Lecturer
Early modern religious and cultural history; C19th North Sea religion, culture and trade; public history: history on TV; school history curricula
ebell@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886941
Miss Erin Newman Associate Lecturer
enewman@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Finn Pollard College Director of Academic Quality and Standards
Anglo-American Relations, Early National America, P G Wodehouse, US Presidential History
fpollard@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886692
Miss Frances Cadd Associate Lecturer
fcadd@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Gary Francione Associate Lecturer
gfrancione@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Gary Stephen Associate Lecturer
gstephen@lincoln.ac.uk
Miss Gemma Shearwood Associate Lecturer
gshearwood@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Giustina Monti Senior Lecturer in Classical Studies (Greek Culture)/Programme Leader
Ancient Historiography; Ancient Greek History; Alexander the Great, esp. his interactions with the Near East; Polybius; Fragmentary Historians, esp. the so-called Historians of Alexander.
gmonti@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Graham Barrett Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
Latin language and literacy; Roman history; Late Antiquity; medieval history; Iberian Peninsula; texts and transmission.
gbarrett@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835351
Dr Helen Smith Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
Gender, Sexuality, Class and Region in Twentieth Century British History
hsmith@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837761
Mr Henning Schulze Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
Objects Conservation (Social History, Anthropological Objects), Historic Interiors
hschulze@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835171
Ms Holly Parker Associate Lecturer
hparker@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Ian Packer Associate Professor
Modern British political history and the links between literature and history.
ipacker@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837360
Dr Imogen Wiltshire Senior Lecturer
Modern and contemporary art and visual culture; art, health and medicine; therapeutic art-making; displacement, migration and memory
iwiltshire@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Isabelle Carter Lecturer in Twentieth Century British History
Everyday life, class, space, and housing in twentieth-century British history
icarter@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr J Brian Pitts Associate Lecturer
bpitts@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Jade Shepherd Senior Lecturer in Modern History (1800-present)
History of Psychiatry; History of Crime and Punishment; Social and Cultural History of Victorian Britain
jshepherd@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835354
Dr James Greenhalgh Associate Professor / Programme Leader
Urban and Socio-cultural Histories of Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Britain, including: redevelopment, planning and local government; war and rebuilding, housing, children and veteran's experience of conflict, life-story writing and oral histories.
jgreenhalgh@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837729
Dr Jamie Page Associate Lecturer
japage@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Jamie Wood Professor of History and Education
Early Medieval History, Late Antiquity, Historiography, Violence and Education, Spain, Goths and Romans, Byzantium, Digital History; Teaching History
jwood@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837389
Dr Jim Cheshire Associate Professor
Victorian Studies / Cultural History
jcheshire@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835020
Dr Jon Coburn Lecturer in American Studies / Programme Leader
20th-Century US History Protest and Dissent Gender, Feminism, and Women's Rights Movements Public Memory Information Science
jcoburn@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Jonathan Fitzgibbons Senior Lecturer
Early Modern British History; Early Modern Political Thought; British Civil Wars; History and Memory
jfitzgibbons@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835411
Dr Kate Hill Deputy Head of School of History and Heritage
19th century British cultural history
khill@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886125
Miss Kelly Beestone Associate Lecturer
kbeestone@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Kristian Shaw Associate Professor / Programme Leader
Contemporary literature Post-war British literature British politics European Union
kshaw@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886982
Dr Kristy Warren Senior Lecturer in Black History
African Diaspora; Bermuda; Britain; British Empire; the Caribbean; cultural and social history; historiography; oral histories; memory
kwarren@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Lacey Wallace Senior Lecturer in Roman History & Material Culture
Archaeology of Roman Britain; Roman archaeology; digital methods in archaeology; material and visual culture; urbanism; rural settlement.
lwallace@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835467
Dr Laura Fernandez-Gonzalez Associate Professor
Early modern art and architecture, Spanish and Portuguese History, Imperial and Global History, Architectural and Urban Conservation,
lfernandezgonzalez@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835032
Dr Laura Gill Lecturer in English
Literature and visual culture of the long nineteenth century (Romanticism and the Victorian period)
lgill@lincoln.ac.uk
Mrs Leah Warriner-Wood Lecturer in Conservation
Tapestry and other textiles as Material Culture; Conservation of textiles and other organic materials; History of tapestry and other textiles; Object-based research; Cultural Heritage; Public outreach and engagement with conservation.
lwarrinerwood@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835023
Ms Lorraine Finch Associate Lecturer
lfinch@lincoln.ac.uk
Mrs Lorraine Roberts Associate Lecturer
loroberts@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835486
Prof Louise Wilkinson Professor of Medieval Studies
Medieval women; gender; the cultural, legal, political and social history of the thirteenth century; the medieval aristocracy; medieval records.
lwilkinson@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886354
Prof Lucie Armitt Professor in Contemporary English Literature
contemporary womens writing; the Gothic; the literary fantastic
larmitt@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837384
Dr Lynda Skipper Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
Science, preventive conservation, historic interiors, wallpapers, paint and pigments, biodeterioration, conservation training courses.
lskipper@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835066
Prof Mark Clark Research Professor in Medieval Intellectual History
Medieval History; Scholasticism; the schools and universities of Paris and England during the High Middle Ages; History of the Book
mclark@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Mark Gardiner Professor of Medieval Archaeology
Late medieval archaeology: upland landscapes, trade in the North Atlantic, medieval buildings
mgardiner@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886212
Mr Mark Grove Senior Lecturer in Strategic Studies
mgrove@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Mark Hocknull Associate Professor in Philosophy / Programme Leader
Moral Philosophy, Philosophical Anthropology, Philosophy of Evil, Philosophy of Science (Biology), Philosophy of Religion
mhocknull@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886076
Dr Melina Smirniou Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
Conservation of archaeological material; Preventive conservation; Archaeological Materials Science; Analysis of ancient glass; Digital Humanities
msmirniou@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835021
Dr Michael Wuk Senior Classical Languages Tutor
Roman and early medieval history; Late Antiquity and the Byzantine empire; cultural, religious, and social history; documentary sources; concepts and manifestations of authority and obligation; ceremonies and rituals.
mwuk@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835685
Dr Michele Vescovi Senior Lecturer
Medieval Art & Architecture
mvescovi@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835034
Miss Nicole Gosling Associate Lecturer
ngosling@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Olley Pearson Senior Lecturer in Philosophy
opearson@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886364
Dr Owen Clayton Senior Lecturer
US American Literature, approx 1850-1940; literature and social justice; literature and homelessness; working-class studies; British Victorian and Edwardian Literature; literature and photography/early film.
oclayton@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837382
Mr Paul Croft Senior Research Associate
Architectural Paint Research & Conservation Project Management
pcroft@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835055
Miss Paula Del Val Vales Associate Lecturer
pdelvalvales@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Peter Sloane Senior Lecturer in English / Programme Leader
My research is predominantly in postmodernist fictions and film. My first monograph, David Foster Wallace and the Body (Routledge 2019), explores Wallace's career-long fascination with embodiment, and the very many impediments posed to persons by their often wayward bodies. My second, Kazuo Ishiguro's Gestural Poetics (Bloomsbury 2021), examines the manner in which Ishiguro's fictions approach the ineffable, the inexpressible. With Kristian Shaw I am editing and contributing to a collection of essays on Ishiguro due for publication with Manchester University Press in 2022. I am also editing ReFocus: The Films of Claire Denis (EUP), which will be the most recent and up to date collection of scholarship on Denis. My current monograph is titled Statelessness: Refugees in 21st Century Literature and Film, and thinks through the ways in which migrants represent and reflect on their experiences in a range of media.
psloane@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835366
Mr Philip Grove Senior Lecturer and SME in Strategic Studies
Naval aviation studies; naval history; military aviation, defence policy, procurement and current naval developments.
pgrove@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Philip Skipper Associate Lecturer
Biodeterioration, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Protein Chemistry, Assay Development.
pskipper@lincoln.ac.uk
Miss Phillipa McDonnell Research Fellow in Conservation and Heritage
Architectural Paint Research and material based research of historic decorative finishes. Decorative surfaces and wallpaper conservation and replication. 3D scanning.
pmcdonnell@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Pietro Di Paola Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
History of Anarchism, Modern History, Modern Italian History, Labour History, Social History
pdipaola@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886682
Dr Ralph Weir Lecturer in Philosophy
His research focuses on the philosophy of mind and metaphysics. His wider interests include all of the central areas of philosophy.
rweir@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Rebecca Styler Associate Professor / Programme Leader
C19 womens religious writing; God as mother in the C19;Gothic literature, life writing, childhood and feminist spirituality.
rstyler@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886381
Dr Renee Ward Senior Lecturer
Medieval Literature and Culture; Middle English Romance; Medieval Outlaw Narratives; Monster Studies; Medievalism; Womens Writing; Childrens Literature; Young Adult Fantasy
rward@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835471
Mrs Rhiannon Clarricoates Senior Research Fellow in Conservation and Heritage
Architectural paint research and the conservation of fine art
rclarricoates@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837139
Dr Robert Portass Senior Lecturer
Medieval History; History of Spain and Portugal; Economic History; Peasant Studies; Comparative Approaches to Medieval Societies; Markets and Economic Development; Encounters between the Christian Iberian Kingdoms and al-Andalus
rportass@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837734
Dr Ruth Hawthorn Senior Lecturer
American Literature
rhawthorn@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886903
Dr Sarah Longair Senior Lecturer
History of the British Empire, history of museums and material culture
slongair@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835371
Dr Scott Brewster Associate Professor
Gothic Literature, Irish Studies, Psychoanalysis, Modern Poetry
sbrewster@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837592
Dr Scott Freer Associate Lecturer
My scholarly interests lie in literary modernisms, transmedia and film studies.
sfreer@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Bishop Senior Lecturer in American History / Programme Leader
Twentieth-century U.S. gender, culture and social history. The history of the Cold War, the nuclear age and protest.
tbishop@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837168
Dr Vanessa Alvarez Portugal Lecturer in Early Modern European Art History
Art History in the Early Modern Period
vaportugal@lincoln.ac.uk