School of History and Heritage Staff

Name Position Email Last Name First Name Weighting Title
Abigail Dorr
adorr@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Adam Page Senior Lecturer Modern British History
Cultural History, Urban History, Modern Britain, Militarisation
apage@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835354
Dr Aidan Collins Associate Lecturer
aicollins@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Alyson Wharton Senior Lecturer
Ottoman History, Armenian History, Islamic Architecture, History of Architects,19th-Century Architecture and Urbanism
awharton@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835035
Ms Amanda White Conservation Project Manager
awhite@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835170
Prof Amy Livingstone Head of Lincoln School of History & Heritage
alivingstone@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886554
Dr Anais Waag Early Career Fellow
Gender Studies; Political History; Medieval Queenship; Comparative History; Womens Studies; Medieval Epistolography and Diplomatic
awaag@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Anna Marie Roos Professor of the History of Science and Medicine
History of Science and Medicine, Early Modern History

Dr Antonella Liuzzo Scorpo Associate Professor / Programme Leader
Medieval History; Iberian history; history of emotions; legal history; cultural history
aliuzzoscorpo@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837381
Dr Aron Sterk Associate Lecturer
asterk@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Carenza Lewis Professor for the Public Understanding of Research
Medieval rural settlement, demography and landscape; community archaeology; public heritage; medieval history; and childhood in the past
clewis@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837107
Mrs Caroline Oliver Associate Lecturer
coliver@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Cathy Daly Senior Lecturer
Archaeological and world cultures conservation, climate change impacts on cultural heritage.
cdaly@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835036
Ms Celeste Sturgeon Senior Technician in Conservation
csturgeon@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Charlotte Tomlinson Research Associate
ctomlinson@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Chiara Beccalossi Associate Professor
Modern European history, modern British history, Latin American history, transnational history, the history of sexuality, the history of medicine and human sciences, gender and queer studies.
cbeccalossi@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Chris Pickup Associate Lecturer
cpickup@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Christine Grandy Associate Professor
20th century British history; Race relations in 20th century Britain; Film and television history; Social and cultural history; Gender history
cgrandy@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886901
Mrs Claire Ridley Associate Lecturer
cridley@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Came Senior Lecturer in Philosophy / Programme Leader
Post-Kantian European Philosophy (especially Nietzsche and Schopenhauer); Philosophy of Religion
dcame@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837189
Dr Diane Ranyard Associate Lecturer
19th and 20th century Britain; First and Second World Wars; Interwar Period; Social and Cultural History; Legal and Political History; Marriage, Divorce, Families and Friendship; Life-cycles and the everyday; Class; Gender; Sex and Sexuality; History of Emotions (Shame and Love); Media and Screen Culture

Miss Eleanor Griffiths Associate Lecturer
egriffiths@lincoln.ac.uk
Miss Emma Bonson Associate Demonstrator
ebonson@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Erin Bell Senior Lecturer
Early modern religious and cultural history; C19th North Sea religion, culture and trade; public history: history on TV; school history curricula
ebell@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886941
Miss Erin Newman Associate Lecturer
enewman@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Finn Pollard College Director of Academic Quality and Standards
Anglo-American Relations, Early National America, P G Wodehouse, US Presidential History
fpollard@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886692
Miss Frances Cadd Associate Lecturer
fcadd@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Gabriella Rubulotta Associate Lecturer
Classical Languages and Literature, Greek History, Xenophon's Ancient reception, Ancient Rhetoric, Second Sophistic, Late Antiquity
grubulotta@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Gareth Roddy Associate Lecturer
groddy@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Gary Francione Associate Lecturer
gfrancione@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof. Gary Francione Visiting Professor of Philosophy
animal ethics; animal law; the philosophy of veganism; jurisprudence
gfrancione@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Gary Stephen Associate Lecturer
gstephen@lincoln.ac.uk
Miss Gemma Shearwood Associate Lecturer
gshearwood@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Giustina Monti Senior Lecturer in Classical Studies (Greek Culture)/Programme Leader
Ancient Historiography; Ancient Greek History; Alexander the Great, esp. his interactions with the Near East; Polybius; Fragmentary Historians, esp. the so-called Historians of Alexander; Classical Languages and Literature.
gmonti@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Graham Barrett Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
Latin language and literacy; Roman history; Late Antiquity; medieval history; Iberian Peninsula; texts and transmission.
gbarrett@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835351
Dr Helen Smith Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
Gender, Sexuality, Class and Region in Twentieth Century British History
hsmith@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837761
Mr Henning Schulze Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
Objects Conservation (Social History, Anthropological Objects), Historic Interiors
hschulze@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835171
Dr Ian Packer Associate Professor
Modern British political history and the links between literature and history.
ipacker@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837360
Dr Imogen Wiltshire Senior Lecturer
iwiltshire@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Isabelle Carter Lecturer in Twentieth Century British History
Everyday life, class, space, and housing in twentieth-century British history
icarter@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr J Brian Pitts Associate Lecturer
bpitts@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Jade Shepherd Senior Lecturer in Modern History (1800-present)
History of Psychiatry; History of Crime and Punishment; Social and Cultural History of Victorian Britain
jshepherd@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835354
Dr James Greenhalgh Associate Professor / Programme Leader
Urban and Socio-cultural Histories of Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Britain, including: redevelopment, planning and local government; war and rebuilding, housing, children and veteran's experience of conflict, life-story writing and oral histories.
jgreenhalgh@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837729
Dr Jamie Page Associate Lecturer
japage@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Jamie Wood Professor of History and Education
Early Medieval History, Late Antiquity, Historiography, Violence and Education, Spain, Goths and Romans, Byzantium, Digital History; Teaching History
jwood@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837389
Dr Jim Cheshire Associate Professor
Victorian Studies / Cultural History
jcheshire@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835020
Dr Jon Coburn Lecturer in American Studies / Programme Leader
20th-Century US History Protest and Dissent Gender, Feminism, and Women's Rights Movements Public Memory Information Science
jcoburn@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Jonathan Fitzgibbons Senior Lecturer
Early Modern British History; Early Modern Political Thought; British Civil Wars; History and Memory
jfitzgibbons@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835411
Dr Kate Hill Deputy Head of School of History and Heritage
19th century British cultural history
khill@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886125
Miss Kelly Beestone Associate Lecturer
kbeestone@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Kristy Warren Lecturer in Black History
African Diaspora; Bermuda; Britain; British Empire; the Caribbean; cultural and social history; historiography; oral histories; memory
kwarren@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Lacey Wallace Senior Lecturer in Roman History & Material Culture
Archaeology of Roman Britain; Roman archaeology; digital methods in archaeology; material and visual culture; urbanism; rural settlement.
lwallace@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835467
Dr Laura Fernandez-Gonzalez Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
Early modern art and architecture, Spanish and Portuguese History, Imperial and Global History, Architectural and Urban Conservation,
lfernandezgonzalez@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835032
Mrs Leah Warriner-Wood Lecturer in Conservation
Tapestry and other textiles as Material Culture; Conservation of textiles and other organic materials; History of tapestry and other textiles; Object-based research; Cultural Heritage; Public outreach and engagement with conservation.
lwarrinerwood@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835023
Ms Lorraine Finch Associate Lecturer
lfinch@lincoln.ac.uk
Mrs Lorraine Roberts Associate Lecturer
loroberts@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835486
Prof Louise Wilkinson Professor of Medieval Studies
Medieval women; gender; the cultural, legal, political and social history of the thirteenth century; the medieval aristocracy; medieval records.
lwilkinson@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886354
Dr Lynda Skipper Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
Science, preventive conservation, historic interiors, wallpapers, paint and pigments, biodeterioration, conservation training courses.
lskipper@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835066
Dr Mark Baker Lecturer in Chinese History
mbaker@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Mark Clark Research Professor in Medieval Intellectual History
Medieval History; Scholasticism; the schools and universities of Paris and England during the High Middle Ages; History of the Book
mclark@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Mark Gardiner Professor of Medieval Archaeology
Late medieval archaeology: upland landscapes, trade in the North Atlantic, medieval buildings
mgardiner@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886212
Mr Mark Grove Senior Lecturer in Strategic Studies
mgrove@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Mark Hocknull Associate Professor in Philosophy / Programme Leader
Moral Philosophy, Philosophical Anthropology, Philosophy of Evil, Philosophy of Science (Biology), Philosophy of Religion
mhocknull@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886076
Dr Matthew Ward Associate Lecturer
I am a late medieval historian, focusing on the interplay between culture and politics in the fifteenth and early sixteenth centuries. My first monograph, The Livery Collar in Late Medieval England and Wales: Politics, Identity and Affinity was published by Boydell & Brewer in 2016. I was awarded a British Academy Postdoctoral Research Fellowship in 2017 (University of Nottingham) to study 'The Culture of Loyalty in Fifteenth-Century England'. I am currently preparing the monograph for publication.
matward@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Melina Smirniou Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
Conservation of archaeological material; Preventive conservation; Archaeological Materials Science; Analysis of ancient glass; Digital Humanities
msmirniou@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835021
Dr Michael Wuk Senior Classical Languages Tutor
Roman and early medieval history; Late Antiquity and the Byzantine empire; cultural, religious, and social history; documentary sources; concepts and manifestations of authority and obligation; ceremonies and rituals.
mwuk@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835685
Dr Michele Vescovi Senior Lecturer
Medieval Art & Architecture
mvescovi@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835034
Miss Nicole Gosling Associate Lecturer
ngosling@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Olley Pearson Senior Lecturer in Philosophy
opearson@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886364
Mr Paul Croft Senior Research Associate
Architectural Paint Research & Conservation Project Management
pcroft@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835055
Miss Paula Del Val Vales Associate Lecturer
pdelvalvales@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Philip Grove Senior Lecturer and SME in Strategic Studies
Naval aviation studies; naval history; military aviation, defence policy, procurement and current naval developments.
pgrove@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Philip Skipper Associate Lecturer
Biodeterioration, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Protein Chemistry, Assay Development.
pskipper@lincoln.ac.uk
Miss Phillipa McDonnell Research Fellow in Conservation and Heritage
Architectural Paint Research and material based research of historic decorative finishes. Decorative surfaces and wallpaper conservation and replication. 3D scanning.
pmcdonnell@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Pietro Di Paola Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
History of Anarchism, Modern History, Modern Italian History, Labour History, Social History
pdipaola@lincoln.ac.uk
01522886682
Dr Ralph Weir Lecturer in Philosophy
His research focuses on the philosophy of mind and metaphysics. His wider interests include all of the central areas of philosophy.
rweir@lincoln.ac.uk
Mrs Rhiannon Clarricoates Senior Research Fellow in Conservation and Heritage
Architectural paint research and the conservation of fine art
rclarricoates@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837139
Dr Robert Portass Senior Lecturer
Medieval History; History of Spain and Portugal; Economic History; Peasant Studies; Comparative Approaches to Medieval Societies; Markets and Economic Development; Encounters between the Christian Iberian Kingdoms and al-Andalus
rportass@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837734
Mrs Sarah Cheng Associate Lecturer
Sarah Cheng specialises in the conservation of decorative surfaces.
scheng@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Longair Senior Lecturer
History of the British Empire, history of museums and material culture
slongair@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835371
Dr Thea Lawrence Lecturer in Classical Studies
Greek and Roman history; Classical Literature; Classical Reception; Ancient Senses; Gender and the Body in Classical Antiquity; Gender and Sexuality in Antiquity
tlawrence@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Bishop Senior Lecturer in American History / Programme Leader
Twentieth-century U.S. gender, culture and social history. The history of the Cold War, the nuclear age and protest.
tbishop@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837168