Group Members

A group of academics walking on the landing of a University of Lincoln building

Group Members

A list of the members of the Medieval Studies Research Group at the University of Lincoln.

NamePosition/Research InterestsContact
Claire Arrand

Special Collections Librarian

carrand@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Graham Barrett

Senior Lecturer

Iberian Peninsula; Late Antiquity; early Middle Ages; Latin language and literature; textuality and transmission.

gbarrett@lincoln.ac.uk

Dr Nicholas Bennett

Visiting Senior Fellow

Church history; parish clergy; Lincoln diocese; cathedrals; archives. 

 

Professor Mark Clark

Research Professor

Medieval history; scholasticism; the schools and universities of Paris and England during the High Middle Ages; history of the book.

mclark@lincoln.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Elliott

Associate Professor

Epic film; historical film; history in popular culture; medieval film; medievalism.

aelliott@lincoln.ac.uk

Dr Mark Gardiner

Professor

Medieval settlement; medieval landscape; houses; maritime trading systems; North Atlantic.

mgardiner@lincoln.ac.uk

Dr Antonella Luizzo Scorpo

Associate Professor

Medieval Iberia; friendship; interfaith relationships; history of emotions; social networks.

aliuzzoscorpo@lincoln.ac.uk

Dr Robert Portass

Senior Lecturer

Iberian Peninsula; exchange systems; markets and transactions; the peasantry; the apparatus and structures of early medieval government.

rportass@lincoln.ac.uk

Dr Samantha Tipper

Visiting Fellow from A.R.U.

Forensic anthropology; forensic science; bioarchaeology; human skeletal biology; health and disease in ancient Nubia.

 
Dr Michele Vescovi

Senior Lecturer

Medieval art and architecture; cult of saints and shrine culture; sacred objects and the natural environment; ritual practices and the activation of images/architecture; digital modeling. 

mvescovi@lincoln.ac.uk

Dr Anais Waag

Early Career Fellow

Medieval queenship; medieval letters and diplomatic; medieval rulership; gender studies; comparative history.

awaag@lincoln.ac.uk

Dr Renee Ward

Senior Lecturer

Medieval romance; Arthuriana; monsters; outlaws; medievalism.

rward@lincoln.ac.uk

Professor Louise Wilkinson

Professor

Medieval women; medieval queenship; aristocracies; thirteenth-century government; medieval Lincoln and Lincolnshire.

lwilkinson@lincoln.ac.uk

Dr Hope Williard

Academic Subject Librarian

Friendship in the Middle Ages; Merovingian Gaul; music collections and cataloguing; letter writing, 300-1000 AD.

hwilliard@lincoln.ac.uk

Dr Marianne Wilson

Visiting Fellow from the University of York

Lincoln wills; Lincoln records; Lincoln cathedral and its close in the later Middle Ages; the Reformation; the archbishops of York's late medieval registers.

mwilson@lincoln.ac.uk

Dr Jamie Wood

Professor

Visigoths, Iberian Peninsula, saints, social violence, history-writing.

jwood@lincoln.ac.uk

Dr Michael Wuk

Senior Classical Languages Tutor

Late Antiquity; social dynamics; oath-taking; social and religious obligation; documentary sources.

mwuk@lincoln.ac.uk