Department of Geography Staff

Name Position Email Last Name First Name Weighting Title
Dr Amogh Mudbhatkal Technician
Environmental engineering, Catchment/Watershed Hydrology, Hydrological modelling, GIS, Remote Sensing/GIS applications in hydrology
amudbhatkal@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837443
Dr Andrew Kythreotis Senior Lecturer - Social & Political Geography
Climate Change Policy, Politics and Governance; Political and Social Geography; Political Ecology of the State; Environmental Knowledge Construction; Scale Debate in Human Geography; Evidenced-based Policy and Open Science
akythreotis@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835855
Mr Brendan Bellis Senior Lecturer in Military Education
Autonomy, technology and operational environmental resource management
bbellis@lincoln.ac.uk
Ms Catherine Warriner School Administrator
cwarriner@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837390
Dr Daniel Magnone Deputy Head of Life and Environmental Sciences (Geography)
dmagnone@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835895
Dr Dilkushi de Alwis Pitts Senior Lecturer in Physical Geography
Remotely sensed surface dynamics, climate change, food and water security, technology transfer
ddealwispitts@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Donall Cross Post Doctoral Research Associate
dcross@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Edward Hanna Professor of Climate Science and Meteorology / Programme Leader
climate change; Greenland Ice Sheet mass balance; meteorology; North Atlantic Oscillation; storminess; seasonal weather prediction; solar eclipses
ehanna@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835382
Miss Gertruda Zieniute Associate Lecturer
gzieniute@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Harriet Moore Senior Lecturer
River restoration, environmental behaviour, social disparity, emergency medical services, COVID-19, mental health.
hamoore@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835804
Dr Ian Simpson Post Doctoral Research Associate in Seasonal Weather Prediction
As well as weather forecasting (both short and long-range), I have a strong interest in, and experience with, precipitation variability (especially convective precipitation), synoptic climatology, climate statistics, and historic weather events.
isimpson@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Jay Emery Lecturer in Human Geography
jemery@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Jinsong Yang Visiting Researcher
jyang@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Joseph Harwood Senior Technician
Analytical Geochemistry (XRF, XRD, SEM), Sedimentology and Photogrammetry utilising UAV technology
jharwood@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835893
Mrs Josephine Westlake Associate Lecturer
Hydrology, Geomorphology, Geophysical Hazards
jwestlake@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Julian Clifton Senior Lecturer / Programme Leader
Environmental management, conservation and policy; maritime communities and marine conservation; rural development; climate change policy
jclifton@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837985
Dr Kristen Beck Senior Lecturer
I specialise in disentangling the relationships between aquatic and terrestrial ecosystem dynamics through time using high resolution multi-proxy palaeoecological data. A lot of my work is focused on Tasmania, Australia, with newer projects in the UK and Canada.
kbeck@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835805
Dr Luca Mao Associate Professor
River science; fluvial geomorphology; hydrology
lumao@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835803
Dr Mark Ashman Senior Lecturer in Meteorology and Oceanography
Agricultural science, meteorology and navigation
mashman@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Mark Charlesworth Associate Lecturer
mcharlesworth@lincoln.ac.uk
Prof Mark Macklin Distinguished Professor of River Systems and Global Change
River channel and floodplain responses to climate change, long-term human-river environment interactions, alluvial archaeology, flood-risk assessment, metal mining pollution and its impact on ecosystem and human health, and the hydrological controls of malaria.
mmacklin@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835380
Dr Mark Schuerch Associate Professor in Physical Geography
Coastal and estuarine sediment dynamics, climate change and sea level rise, coastal ecosystems, coastal management, coastal adaptation
mschuerch@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835820
Dr Matthew Hannaford Senior Lecturer in Human Geography
Disasters; Environmental history; Climate change adaptation; Southern Africa
mhannaford@lincoln.ac.uk
01522835802
Ms Miyo Yoshizaki Graduate Demonstrator
myoshizaki@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Nwamaka Okeke-Ogbuafor Associate Lecturer
Development Studies; Rural Geography; Social Science Research Methods; Fisheries; Environmental Politics; Sub-Saharan Africa
nokekeogbuafor@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Steven Shanks Senior Lecturer in Meteorology and Oceanography
Steven has over a decade of offshore survey experience and his subject specialism would be Hydrography with Oceanography in particular Global navigation satellite systems (GNSS) and underwater acoustic positioning systems.
sshanks@lincoln.ac.uk
Mr Tariqul Islam Associate Lecturer
Urban and rural development panning; Hazard studies and disaster risk reduction; Environmental and natural resource management; Climate-change impact; Landuse change detection and mapping, GIS and Remote sensing technique application.
taislam@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Theresa Mercer Senior Lecturer in Biogeography & Planetary Health
environmental biogeochemistry, biogeography, ecosystem services, soil science, waste management, environmental pollution, environmental policy, climate policy, education for sustainable development, climate change education
tmercer@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Thomas O'Shea Hydrodynamic and Hydromorphic Modeller
Social Theory, Flooding, Modelling, Complexity, Sustainability & Resilience.
toshea@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Yeran Sun Senior Lecturer in Geography
Quantitative Human Geography; GIS; Transport and Mobility; Healthy Built Environment; Geospatial Big Data Analytics; GeoAI
yesun@lincoln.ac.uk
01522837986