School of Chemistry Staff

Name Position Email Last Name First Name Weighting Title
Mr Alastair Scott Clerical Assistant
Dr Aleksandar Radu Associate Professor in Analytical Chemistry
Analytical Chemistry, Sensors, Environmental Analysis
Miss Amy Robinson Project Coordinator
Dr Andrea Floris Senior Lecturer
Computational Modelling of Condensed Matter, Molecular Self-Assembly, On-surface Synthesis Density Functional Theory, Vibrational Properties, Superconductivity
Dr Arunabhiram Chutia Senior Lecturer in Chemistry
Theoretical and computational chemistry
Mr Bruno D'Aguanno Visiting Professor
Miss Cassandra Whelan Administrator
Dr Con McElroy Senior Lecturer in Sustainable Chemistry
Mr Connor Summerfield Associate Demonstrator
Miss Daisy Gray Associate Demonstrator
Mr Dan Matthews Senior Lecturer in Forensic Science
Mrs Emma Jones Administrator
Mr Faruk Mayere Associate Demonstrator
Dr Filipe Marques Mota Lecturer in Chemistry
Energy conversion and storage, Electrochemistry, Materials Science
Dr Gareth Lloyd Associate Professor in Chemistry
Supramolecular Chemistry and Crystalline Solids
Dr Graham Pattison Senior Lecturer in Chemistry
Synthetic Chemistry Green and Sustainable Chemistry Organofluorine Chemistry Organoboron Chemistry Medicinal Chemistry
Dr Guanjie He Associate Lecturer
Materials chemistry, Electrochemistry, Energy storage and conversion (battery, supercapa. & electrocatalyst) Dr. He is recruiting Ph.D. students or postdoc. (from fellowship schemes). Drop an email inquiry to discuss projects and funding opportunities if you are interested in materials synthesis and clean energy technologies.
Dr Guzman Gil-Ramirez Senior Lecturer
Self-assembly, non-covalent interactions.
Dr Hanieh Yaghootkar Senior Lecturer in Precision Health/ Biosciences
Dr Hilary Hamnett Associate Professor in Forensic Science / Programme Leader
Drugs and toxicology Professional practice
Dr Holly Roebuck Project Coordinator
Prof Ian Scowen Head of School of Chemistry
Miss Jana Kollarova Associate Lecturer
Dr Jason England Senior Lecturer in Chemistry
Miss Jessica Perry Associate Demonstrator
Dr Jiaguang Zhang Senior Lecturer in Chemistry
Heterogeneous Catalysis, Green Chemsitry
Dr Jose Gonzalez-Rodriguez Associate Professor / Programme Leader
Analytical and Forensic Chemistry. Sensors and Environmental Chemistry. Molecular Imprinted Polymers. Data Science.
Mrs Justine Shanahan Teacher Practitioner in Crime Scene Science
Mrs Kristine Gulley Clerical Assistant
Dr Lingcong Meng Associate Lecturer
Dr Lorna Irish Visiting Researcher
Dr Louis Adriaenssens Associate Lecturer
polymer chemistry, host-guest supramolecular chemistry
Dr Mark Baron Associate Professor
Analytical Chemistry
Dr Martin Lear Associate Professor
From total synthesis to the total machine learning of molecules (Mception)
Dr Mathieu Elie Associate Lecturer
Analytical Chemistry, Forensic Chemistry
Dr Matthew Thornton Commercial Manager
Materials Science and Engineering.
Ms Nasreen Ahmed Technician Assistant
Dr Nicholas Gathergood Associate Professor in Chemistry
Green Chemistry, Organic chemistry, Medicinal chemistry, Biodegradation, Green toxicology
Dr Nick Riess Senior Project Scientist
Industrial project management.
Dr Nitin Seetohul Senior Lecturer in Forensic Toxicology
Dr Pankaj Kumar Postdoctoral Research Associate - Synthetic Chemistry
Dr Patrick Pang Instrument Scientist
Dr Peter Eaton Instrument Scientist (Electron Microscopy)
Peter has been working with atomic force microscopy for over twenty years, and transmission electron microscopy and scanning electron microscopy for 10 years. Peter is also highly experienced in the field of vibrational spectroscopy. Peter has been the PI in projects in Microscopy, Nanotechnology and Natural Products.
Dr Robert Johnson Associate Lecturer
Dr Sasitaran Iyavoo Senior Lecturer in Forensic Science
Forensic genetics
Mrs Sharon Hutchinson School Administration Manager
Dr Souvik Roy Senior Lecturer in Chemistry
Molecular Inorganic Chemistry, Catalysis, Materials Chemistry, Solar Fuels
Dr Stefan Wuttke Visiting Professor
Synthesis, characterization, and functionalization of hybrid materials (bulk and nano).
Dr Steve Prior Senior Instrument Scientist
Using NMR to probe the structure and behaviour of materials.
Dr Subramanian Govindan Visiting Fellow
Dr Sumit Konar Instrument Scientist
Mrs Sunanda Sain Research Assistant - Chemistry
Prof Tasnim Munshi Acting Head of School, Professor and Programme Leader
Spectroscopy, Sustainability, Catalysis.
Dr Timea Palmai-Pallag Associate Lecturer
Molecular Cell Biology
Mr Tom Doughty Associate Demonstrator
Prof Yousef Ghorbani Associate Professor in Materials Chemistry
"Sustainable Materials Science and Engineering for Green Energy Transition" This subject specialism would cover research on sustainable processing and supply of critical raw materials for green energy transition, as well as the development of innovative biomaterials and biomedical devices using electrochemistry and other advanced techniques.