Our Honorary Graduates

Honorary Graduates Header

An honorary degree is the highest honour that the University of Lincoln bestows. A small number of honorary degrees are awarded annually, to those who have made a major contribution to their chosen field at national or international level. The University also awards Honorary Fellowships, to those who have served the University in an outstanding capacity as members of staff or governors, and are usually given upon their retirement from their post.

Honorary Showcase

Reginald D Hunter - Honorary Doctor of Arts, January 2018

Stand-up Comedian and Actor Reginald D Hunter was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Arts degree at the Graduation Ceremony of University of Lincoln on 24th January 2018.The famous American Actor, Writer and Comedian is well known for his appearances in various TV shows like Have I Got News For You and The Unbelievable Truth amongst many others.

Willi Meixner - Honorary Doctor of Engineering, January 2018

Willi Meixner, Chief Executive Officer of the Power and Gas Division at global engineering giant Siemens AG, Germany recieves the award Doctor of Engineering, honoris causa from the University of Lincoln on 24 January 2018 in a ceremony held at the impressive 11th Century Lincoln Cathedral. 

Dame Stephanie Shirley - Honorary Doctor of Science, 2014

Dame Stephanie Shirley became an Honorary Doctor of Science at the University of Lincoln in 2014. An early pioneer of computing, she is one of the country's most celebrated entrepreneurs and philanthropists. The Shirley Foundation is now one of the top 50 grant-giving foundations in the UK.

John Sergeant

John Sergeant - Honorary Doctor of Letters 2013

John Sergeant has become one of the nation’s most distinguished journalists. He has reported from more than 25 countries for ITV and the BBC, for whom he was Chief Political Correspondent for 12 years. In September 2013 he became an Honorary Doctor of Letters at the University of Lincoln.

Candice Pellett

Dr Candice Pellett - Honorary Doctor of Science 2016

Dr Candice Pellett is an inspirational District Nurse and Practice Teacher. She has been recognised as a Queen's Nurse and was awarded OBE in 2014 for services to Healthcare. Dr Pellett became an Honorary Doctor of Science at the University of Lincoln in 2016.

The following list provides the names of all of our distinguished honorands, whom we congratulate and welcome as an integral part of the University of Lincoln Alumni community.

 Honorand Honour
Reginald D Hunter Honorary Doctor of Arts
Willi Meixner  
 Honorand Honour
Najam Kidwai Doctor of Business Administration 
Deborah Bull  
Camilla Carlbom Flinn  
Danny and Nicky Cowley  
George "Johnny" Johnson  
Professor James Kakalios  
The Rt. Hon. the Lord Malloch-Brown  
 Honorand Honour
Professor James Fenton  Doctor of Letters 
Ela Gandhi  Doctor of Laws 
Tony Garnett  Doctor of Arts
Maureen Kavanagh  Doctor of Science 
Professor J Maier Doctor of the University 
Candice Pellett Doctor of Science 
Christopher Penney Honorary Fellow 
Professor Efim Zelmanov Doctor of Science
 Honorand Honour
Professor Maxwell Hutchinson  Doctor of Arts
Tomas Roope Doctor of Arts 
Professor Philippe Sands  Doctor of Arts
 Honorand Honour
Roger Buttery Fellow
Professor Claire Cross Doctor of Letters
Barbara Dickson OBE Honorary Doctorate
The Right Honourable The Lord Fellowes of West Stafford DL Doctor of Arts 
Joshua Rozenberg Doctor of Laws 
Dame Stephanie Shirley DSc 
Andrea Spyropoulos DSc
Chris Warmoth Doctor of Business Administration
 Honorand Honour
Lord Ian Blair Doctor of Laws 
Roly Keating Doctor of Letters
Squadron Leader L J Nadin MBA
John Sergeant Doctor of Letters
Colin Walsh Honorary Doctorate 
Graham Secker  
Professor the Baroness Lister of Burtersett Doctor of Science
 Honorand Honour
Professor David Chiddick CBE Doctor of the University
William T Crone Fellowship
Stephen Galjaard Fellowship
John Hurt Doctor of Arts
Professor Paul Langford Doctor of Letters 
Dr Michael Maloney OBE Doctor of Arts
Dr Robert Price OBE Doctor of Science
Mark Richmond Honorary Doctorate
Shaun Sargent Fellowship
Professor Roderick A Smith Honorary Doctorate
Professor Sir David Tweedie Doctor of Business Administration
John A Jenkinson Postgraduate Diploma
 Honorand Honour
Professor Pat Carlen Doctor of Laws
Dr Richard Cork Doctor of Arts
John Cridland CBE Doctor of Business Administration
Dr Jonathan Foyle Doctor of Arts
Loyd Grossman CBE Doctor of Arts 
Professor Sir Alex Markham Doctor of Science
Roger Mosey Doctor of Letters
Lord Norton of Louth Doctor of Laws
Councillor Mrs Marianne Overton Fellowship
Dame Philippa Russell DBE Doctor of the University
 Honorand Honour
Dr Alberto Alessi Doctor of Arts
Yasmin Alibhai-Brown Doctor of Letters
Sir Ian Botham OBE Doctor of Science
Mark Byford Doctor of Letters
Professor Dame Sally Davies DBE Doctor of Science
Anne Hollick Fellowship
Baroness Helena Kennedy Doctor of Laws
William Lewis Doctor of Letters
Richard Reed Doctor of Business Administration
Brian Bevan  
Sir Craig Reedie CBE Doctor of Business Administration
 Honorand Honour
Dr Vicki L Phillips  
Roger D Atkinson Fellowship
Peter Day Doctor of Business Administration
Ian Emmerson OBE Doctor of Science
Air Commodore Neil Gammon MA MSc BSc Doctor of Business Administration
Professor Tim Lang Doctor of Science
Dr Peter Quantick Fellowship
David G Rossington Doctor of the University
Alan Rusbridger Doctor of Letters
Dr Dalibor Vesely Doctor of Arts 
The Rt Hon Professor Lord Winston Doctor of Science
 Honorand Honour
Don Blackburn Fellowship
Dame Elizabeth Esteve-Coll DBE Doctor of Arts
Keith J Laidler Honorary Doctorate
Professor Roger Laughton Doctor of Arts
David Mullaney Fellowship
John Pilger Doctor of Arts
The Rt Hon Lord George Robertson of Port Ellen Doctor of the University
Deyan Sudjic OBE Doctor of Arts
Jim Whittingham Doctor of the University
 Honorand Honour
Antonio Berardi Doctor of Arts
The Rt Hon Baroness Byford DBE Doctor of Business Administration
Professor Bernard Crump Doctor of Science
Jon Hanna Fellowship
Lord Macdonald of Tradeston Doctor of Business Administration
Mike Newell Doctor of Arts
Nicholas Parsons Doctor of Arts
David Remfry MBA RA Doctor of Arts
Anthony Smith Doctor of Letters
 Honorand Honour
Dr Cheryle Berry Doctor of Arts
Dr John Buttrick Doctor of Arts
Professor Oleg Eremin Doctor of Science
John Inverdale Doctor of Arts
Professor Anthony Jones CBE Doctor of Arts
Dr Elaine McMahon CBE Doctor of Letters
Barry Spikings Doctor of Arts
Dennis Turner Doctor of Business Administration
 Honorand Honour
Professor Kelvin A Bray CBE Doctor of Science
Nevile J Camamile Doctor of Business Administration
Dr Roger Ewbank OBE Doctor of Science
Simon W Lunt Doctor of Law
Don McCullin Doctor of Arts
Professor Sarah Skelton Fellowship
Janet Soo-Chung CBE Doctor of Business Administration
Dr Carole Tongue Doctor of Arts
 Honorand Honour
The Lord Adebowale CBE Doctor of Letters
Trevor Jameson Doctor of Arts
The Very Reverend Sir Alec Knight OBE Doctor of Letters
Martin Lambie-Nairn Doctor of Arts
Derek Mapp Doctor of Letters
Adam Pearson Doctor of Business Administration
 Honorand Honour
Sir Terry Farrell CBE, B Arch (Hons), M Arch, MCP, DCL, RIBA Doctor of Arts
Reg C Green Honorary Doctorate
Professor Sir Martin Harris CBE DL Doctor of Letters
Ruth M Parker DL Fellowship
 Honorand Honour
Sir Brian Fender Doctor of Education
Professor Dame Janet Finch DBE Doctor of Education
Christopher M Oughtred Fellowship
John H Robinson Honorary Doctorate
 Honorand Honour
Keith W Darwin OBE Doctor of Law
Andrew Milner Doctor of Law