Read our latest news stories
3rd February 2011, 11:20am
Students to give talk on investigative journalism at top conference
Shane Croucher, Sean McGrath and Tom Farmery Three undergraduate students on the new BA Investigative Journalism and Research programme at the University of Lincoln are to give a presentation to a major international conference at Coventry University on 9 March.

Final year students Shane Croucher, Tom Farmery and Sean McGrath will give a 20-minute talk on using the Web 2.0 social media for investigative purposes – and the many ethical dilemmas involved. Media luminaries Dorothy Byrne and Donal MacIntyre will be in the audience.

Professor Richard Lance Keeble, acting head of the Lincoln School of Journalism (LSJ), said: “This is a considerable achievement for the three students. I’m sure they will draw from the challenges they have already faced on the exciting new journalism programme to make a fascinating and original presentation.”

Tom Farmery commented: "The chance to deliver a presentation in front of some of the best reporters ever to work in the field of investigative journalism does not come around everyday. It will be an exhilarating experience for all three of us.”

Shane Croucher added: “This is a fantastic honour for us and very exciting, if a little nerve-wracking.”

Other speakers at the conference (jointly organised by Coventry University, the LSJ and the BBC College of Journalism) include Barnie Choudhury, senior lecturer in journalism at Lincoln, and other top journalists and academics – such as Paul Lashmar, Professor Tim Luckhurst, of Kent University, Ian Overton, head of the Bureau of Investigative Journalism, Dorothy Byrne, head of Channel Four News and Visiting Professor at the University of Lincoln, Donal MacIntyre and Mark Daly.

It is also hoped Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein, the famous Washington Post Watergate duo, and Phillip Knightley, another Visiting Professor at the University of Lincoln, will appear via Skype.

Pictured clockwise from left: Shane Croucher, Sean McGrath and Tom Farmery.

Tweet this story Share on Facebook