Read our latest news stories
Celebrating excellence: outstanding students awarded scholarships
Published: 16th November 2017, 9:53am
Celebrating excellence: outstanding students awarded scholarships The outstanding academic achievements of students at the University of Lincoln, UK, were celebrated yesterday (Wednesday 15th November 2017) when a series of prestigious scholarships were awarded.

High-achieving students gathered with family members and teaching staff from their former schools and colleges to celebrate their successes and to receive awards at a special ceremony on the Universityís Brayford Pool campus.

The University of Lincolnís Deputy Vice Chancellor (External Relations), Professor Toby Wilkinson, attended the event to share his congratulations and to present each student with their individual scholarships.
Altogether 33 students received scholarships worth a combined total of almost £87,000. The awards, designed to recognise the diverse accomplishments of students and to help support them through their studies at Lincoln, celebrate the wide-ranging talent of students across all four of the Universityís academic colleges.

Professor Toby Wilkinson said ďThis ceremony brings together our scholarship winners and academic teams who are shaping their futures with the teachers and loved-ones who have helped set these students on their way to academic success . This special time in the academic year allows us to acknowledge and celebrate their hard work and achievements.

ďIt is our mission here at Lincoln to enable talented students from all backgrounds to flourish and realise their potential Ė and Iím sure these latest scholarship winners will go on to achieve great things.Ē

Eleven new undergraduate students were awarded the Universityís Excellence Scholarships, worth £1,000 each. At the ceremony they also discovered which of them had been selected to receive the prestigious Vice Chancellorís Scholarship - a flagship award providing an additional £9,000 over three years awarded on the basis of an individualís  outstanding academic abilities, proven commitment to their subject discipline and personal impact on their community.

This year the additional award was secured by Zoe Alexandra Martin, a Business Psychology student. Following the announcement, Zoe said: ďI really canít believe it. Iím obviously very happy but itís all a bit overwhelming - Iím just so grateful to receive the award!Ē

The other winners of the Vice Chancellorís Excellence Scholarships were Jaylan Sami Mazlum (Media Production), Akunya Victoria Fomina (Illustration), McClay Manktelow (Games Computing), Alethea Green and Chloe Shannon Pratt (Mathematics), Chloe Ramsay (Forensic Science), Thomas Woodward (Computer Science), Megan Carey and Sian Susan Ellen Jamieson (Nursing), and Ellie-Mai Richardson (International Tourism Management).

A further 13 high achieving students from around the world were also awarded scholarships worth £5,000 each. Receiving the Santander International Scholarship were Ayaka Ajiki (Conservation of Cultural Heritage), Keira Wingader (Animal Behaviour and Welfare), Ana Barcelos Guerra Pinto (Clinical Animal Behaviour), and Savanna Haverfield (Crisis and Disaster Management). The Academic Excellence Scholarship was awarded to Masterís students Pattaranan Tunpoon and Kwantip Threelerdratana (Marketing with Luxury Brands), Chitchanok Chongtheamatao (Tourism and Marketing), Amanda Harvey (Fashion Management), Lingling Feng (Human Resource Management), Chirantana Mathkari (Clinical Animal Behaviour), Deeksha Teri (Journalism), Sree Ramchander (Architecture) and Kaiyi Ma (International Business).

Also receiving subject-specific scholarships for the School of Pharmacy were the top three performing MPharm students in each academic year. Megan Blenkinship, Gemma Warburton, Lauren Eaton, Sheafa Khanum, Elizabeth Davys, Rebecca Swaffield, Oliver Clifton, Tamara Dean and Francesca O'Halloran were all presented with the Maltby Award.

Tweet this story Share on Facebook