Read our latest news stories
20th June 2011, 9:47am
University Court brings together the influential and the celebrated
Bluemantle Pursuivant, Chancellor and Vice Chancellor Life peers, knights of the realm, top public servants and luminaries from the worlds of politics, culture, justice, business and medicine have been united by the University of Lincoln with the inauguration of its Court.

University courts are an ancient tradition and at Lincoln, influential persons representing all aspects of industry, commerce, the arts, science, the professions, education and the voluntary sector, locally, regionally and nationally will advise those responsible for setting the University’s strategic direction and development.

Led by the University’s Chancellor Professor Lord Adebowale of Thornes and Vice Chancellor Professor Mary Stuart, there will initially be 62 members of the prestigious body.

Among those attending the inaugural meeting and reception the University’s striking new Business and Law Faculty building were:

Mr Basheer Ahmed MBE
Mr John Allen
Sir David Arculus
Mr Kelvin Bray CBE
The Rt Hon Baroness Byford DBE DL
Mr Nevile Camamile
Mr Bryan Carr CBE
Mr Roger Cole
Mr William Crone
Professor Bernard Crump
Mr Peter Denby
Mrs Pamela Duncan
Professor Oleg Eremin
Mr John Godfrey CBE
Mr Loyd Grossman OBE
Sir Ewan Harper CBE
The Rt Hon Douglas Hogg QC, Viscount Hailsham
Mr Barry Jackson MBE
Dr Edward Jackson FRCP
Mr Miles Jolly
Mr Keith Laidler
Professor Roger Laughton
Mr Tony McArdle
Mr Karl McCartney JP MP
Mr Sidney McFarlane MBE
Councillor Ric Metcalfe
Mrs Ruth Parker DL
Dr Margaret Spurr OBE DL
Mr Jeremy Webster
Mr Antony Worth HM LL of Lincolnshire
The Rt Hon, the Earl of Yarborough

The illustrious list of members also includes The Rt Hon Professor Lord Winston, The Rt Hon Lord Taylor of Holbeach CBE, The Rt Hon Lord Broers, Sir Reginald Sheffield Bt DL, founding chancellor of the University Dame Elizabeth Esteve-Coll and founding vice chancellor Professor David Chiddick CBE.

The occasion also saw the University truly coming of age with the formal presentation of its first Coat of Arms by Bluemantle Pursuivant of Arms in Ordinary, officer of the College of Arms in London.

Deputy Vice Chancellor Dr Frances Mannsåker said: “The University owes its establishment to the energy and commitment of the people and businesses of Lincolnshire through the work of the Lincolnshire Foundation, and their continuing interest and support has been a distinctive and important feature of the University in Lincoln since its inception.

“Building on this sense of co-operation and community involvement, the University is establishing a Court to provide structured engagement between itself and major figures at local, regional and national level.”

The Court will meet twice a year.

Tweet this story Share on Facebook