7th July 2006




Over 70 school pupils from all over the county will be finding out more about science at two residential summer schools at the University of Lincoln this month.


The year 10 students will spend a week at Riseholme Park from Monday 17th till Friday 21st July focusing on four main areas of study within the Faculty of Health, Life & Social Sciences: Animal Welfare, Psychology, Forensic Science and Health and Social Science.


During their stay at the Riseholme campus there will be a series of taster sessions during which the pupils will getting practical hands-on experience checking the heart rates of horses, looking at how the heart and lungs cope (or don't cope!) with smoking, and trying to solve a murder mystery using the latest forensic techniques.


They will also take part in outdoor activities including kayaking, abseiling, archery and orienteering.


Professor Stephen Hall, who is co-ordinating the summer schools which are supported by the European Social Fund, said, “The summer school is fun and informative, giving young people an idea of the opportunities available to them after they leave school or college. Current students will be acting as their mentors so they can chat to them about anything to do with university life because they've been there and done it.”


The Lincolnshire schools taking part from 17th to 21st July are: Banovallum School (Horncastle), Branston Community College (Lincoln), Casterton Community College (Stamford), Cherry Willingham Community School, Christ's Hospital School (Lincoln), Cordeaux School (Louth), Gartree Community School (Tattershall), George Farmer Technology College (Holbeach), John Spendluffe School (Alford), Monks' Dyke Technology College (Louth), North Kesteven School (Lincoln), St Bede’s Roman Catholic School (Boston), St Clements College (Skegness), St George's College of Technology (Sleaford), St Peter and St Paul Catholic School (Lincoln), The Aveland School (Billingborough), The Birkbeck School (North Somercotes), The Castle Hills Community Arts College (Gainsborough), The Gleed Girls' School (Spalding), The Lafford High School (Billinghay), The Priory LSST (Lincoln), Walton Girls' High School (Grantham), William Farr (Church of England) Comprehensive School (Welton), William Lovell School (Stickney), Monks Dyke School (Louth) and Yarborough School (Lincoln).


For more information contact:

Kate Strawson Press Officer (01522) 886244 kstrawson@lincoln.ac.uk

Visit our news web pages: www.lincoln.ac.uk/news/latestnews.htm