13th April 2005




In the penultimate performance of the University of Lincolns International Concert Series, the Vogler Quartet will bring a taste of the masters to the Lincoln Drill Hall this Sunday (17th April).


Since gaining international prominence in 1986 as winners of the International String Quartet Competition in Evian, the quartet is now recognised as one of the finest of their generation.


Celebrating their 20th anniversary this year, the Vogler Quartet still plays with the original members: Tim Vogler (violin), Frank Reinecke (violin), Stefan Fehlandt (viola) and Stephan Forck (violoncello).


Accompanied by Graham Oppenheimer on viola, the quartet will perform:


Tchaikovsky Quartet no I Op II in D major

Schulhoff Quartet no I

Mozart String Quintet in D major K593


During their career the Vogler Quartet has made recordings with BMG/RCA Classics, including works by Bartok, Beethoven, Berg, Debussy, Janacek, Ravel, Shostakovich and the complete string quartets of Brahms and Schumann.


In their home city of Berlin, the quartet has now developed their own concert series and residency in the famous Konzerthaus.


We are thrilled and honoured that the Vogler Quartet will be playing for us, said a university spokesperson. It promises to be a memorable performance.


The concert takes place at the Lincoln Drill Hall on Free School Lane in Lincoln and will be preceded by a brief talk at 3.30pm discussing the pieces to be performed. The performance will begin at 4.15pm.


Tickets are available in advance from the Lincoln Drill Hall box office on 01522 873894 at a cost of 9.00, concessions 8.00, students and under 16s 4.00. Tickets will also be available on the door, subject to availability.

For more information contact:

Gill Noakes, Assistant Press Officer

01522 886244 gnoakes@lincoln.ac.uk

Visit our news web pages: www.lincoln.ac.uk/news/latestnews.htm