31st March 2003




A performance of Debussy’s Sonata for cello and piano will be one of the highlights of the latest classical concert in a series sponsored by the University of Lincoln.


The fifth concert in the University of Lincoln International Concert Series takes place at The Lawn this Sunday (6th April) and will feature the following programme:


o       Debussy Sonata for cello and piano

o       Saint-Saens Sonata for violin and piano

o       Fauré Piano Quartet no1 in C minor, Op 15.


The concert series began in October last year and is being staged thanks to a new collaboration between artistic director Graham Oppenheimer and the University of Lincoln.


Making up the quartet will be Mi-Kyung Lee (violin), Graham Oppenheimer (viola), Antonio Lysy (cello) and Ronan O’Hora (piano).


This is an intimate French programme with the Fauré Piano Quartet – one of the greatest pieces of French chamber music – as the main work.  It is an excellent opportunity to hear sonatas from Mi-Kyung Lee and Antonio Lysy.


The performance begins at 3.30pm after a pre-concert talk at 2.45pm. Tickets cost £8 (£7 concessions), £3 for students and under-16s.


Tickets are available on the door.


For further information contact Carol Gardiner on 01522 886106.


The series ends on Sunday 11th May with a lush string sextet climax and a rare opportunity to compare two great works of Brahms.




For more information contact: Gill Noakes, Press Assistant, University of Lincoln

Tel: 01522 886244 or Email: gnoakes@lincoln.ac.uk

Search the university’s news archive at http://www.lincoln.ac.uk/news